If you bought an ebike in Arkansas in 2016, your next required steps were to register the ebike and acquire a license. But ebikes don’t carry a motor vehicle VIN, and instead come equipped with a serial number as required by federal law, so the DMV couldn’t provide a registration or license. Ebike riders were left with few options but to risk being accused of riding their new ebike illegally on Arkansas roads and bike paths.
Ambiguous laws and regulations are far from ideal for riders or retailers, considering that ebikes are the fastest growing category of bicycle sales in the nation. In response to restrictive and outdated ebike requirements, state legislators began passing progressive ebike regulations in state traffic codes to ensure common sense rules that provided guidance on where ebike riding was permitted and what rules people must follow when they ride.
Up until a few years ago, every state’s ebike laws had a story similar to Arkansas’, each with a different law about what an ebike is and where it can be ridden. PeopleForBikes and the Bicycle Product Suppliers Association teamed up in 2015 to resolve this. In just four years, PeopleForBikes and the BPSA led the passage of model legislation that increases access for ebikes in ten states, with eyes on another 20 in 2019.
Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Michigan, Tennessee, Utah, and Washington now all have the same ebike law, with minor variations in specifications for each state. State campaigns are in full swing in Ohio, Pennsylvania, Maine, Massachusetts, and Oregon; with a dozen more campaigns in the works.
Alex Logemann, PeopleForBikes’ director of state and local policy, says:
“When the partnership began in 2015, ebike regulations were a complete patchwork, confusing for retailers, consumers, and agencies. The goal of the partnership is to ultimately create a better retail and riding environment for ebikes.”
In 2015, PeopleForBikes and BPSA mobilized manufacturers and suppliers to establish ebike classifications based on existing U.S. federal laws that control ebike manufacturing standards, and international regulations that control products in markets across the globe. Ebikes were organized into three classes:
- Class 1 is a pedal-assist e-bike with a top motor-assisted speed of 20 mph.
- Class 2 is a throttle-assist ebike with a top motor-assisted speed of 20 mph.
- Class 3 is a pedal-assist e-bike with a top motor-assisted speed of 28 mph.
The class system separated low-speed ebikes from higher-powered vehicles and simplified the process of establishing regulations around the use of each class.
Larry Pizzi, chair of the BPSA electric bicycle committee and vice president of the BPSA, says:
“It’s a system that manufacturers, dealers, consumers, lawmakers and agencies can agree benefits the industry, customers, cities and states. Passing this law in ten states in four years is phenomenal, and we’re proud to have created a national standard that states now want to adopt for consistency with their neighboring states.”
More information about the PeopleForBikes/BPSA e-bike initiative is available at PeopleForBikes.
Thinking of buying an Electric Bike? Check out my new 2018 edition of How to Buy the Best Electric Bike! Buy it here.
Read all about How to Buy the Best Electric Bike here.
Did you like this post or find it useful? If so, please support us and our blog:
Please consider clicking through to one of our reputable affiliates for your online shopping needs. We are proudly affiliated with Amazon, which sells pretty much everything except puppies - and has outstanding, free return policies. For your cycling and other athletic shopping needs, we are affiliated to Competitive Cyclist, Bike Wagon, Raleigh Bicycles, Jenson USA, REI Co-op, Backcountry, Commuter Bike Store, and Moosejaw. When you buy from our affiliates we make a small commission, and this is the only way we earn some income for the many hours of work we put into our reviews and posts. Plus, it costs you nothing at all - a real win/win situation!